What am I doing right now? Twittering that’s what.

9 05 2007

I am sorry for the long time between posts but I have been at a meeting in Nepal where aside from catching up with a great group of fellow Bible Society CEO’s and staff from around the Asia Pacific Region, I found myself wrestling with a monkey. Walking along holding my bottle of Pepsi by my side when I suddenly felt a strong tug as someone grabbed my drink. Glancing down I discovered that a monkey was tugging at my bottle … At that point I am thinking, ‘now what did my travel Doctor say about this? – Nuttin. sweet zero. So I yanked the bottle free hoping the monkey doesn’t leap onto my face and start chewing my nose. Man it just stared at me, frowned and walked off. So my Nepal travel tip is ONLY drink Fanta – it is rumored that monkey’s HATE Fanta.

Now that news is old – three days old. What if you were able to communicate with yourtwitter.jpg friends at any moment of the day? Completely up to date information about what you are doing? Well then you need to hook into the latest craze in Web 2.0 known as Twitter which describes itself as,

A global community of friends and strangers answering one simple question: What are you doing? Answer on your phone, IM, or right here on the web!

Someone has created a very, very cool mashup of Twitter and Google Map so you see the Twitter comments appear and where in the world they are from… a must see! Click here to check it out (Also zoom in – you can see what building they are in!)

So what sort of things are people communicating? One Twitterer noted to his friends,

 

‘I truly miss my Sonicare toothbrush. So do my teeth.’ And another declared, ‘eating chicken fried rice and cashews and wishing I had Koz’s life.’ Whereas a more serious offering from another Twitterer concludes, ‘bedtime. tomorrow going to have to catch up on the newsletter stuff. feel so worn out and unacceptably awful.’

twitter2.jpgMuch of the offerings are basic and mundane – which is a normal part of building community and developing friendships. Community and friendships are the fundamentals of any ministry. They offer opportunities to support and be supported, to become involved in others lives, to journey with them. Twitter is an excellent way of making connections. I suspect to be successful it requires that we are prepared to be open about our lives. Not so much about missing one’s favorite toothbrush, but sharing pain , struggles and joys. What about a Twitter prayer network? A community regularly sharing – not just on Sunday mornings… now that sounds cool.

Actions

Information

One response

30 05 2007
Dan

It is a useful tool, I think I will be using it a lot more when I go to NZ so my folks can see what I am up to, you can actually put the twitter badge on your blog too.

Leave a Reply

